Welcome to the Bookshelf Detective, a site packed with tricks and tips for readers and writers of children's literature. Thank you for visiting!
Kim Tomsic

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

National Book Award Finalists Announced

http://www.bookshelfdetective.org/ has the info on the National Book Award Finalists

Young People’s Literature:

Paolo Bacigalupi, "Ship Breaker"

Kathryn Erskine, "Mockingbird"

Laura McNeal, "Dark Water"

Walter Dean Myers, "Lockdown"

Rita Williams-Garcia, "One Crazy Summer"


Peter Carey, "Parrot and Olivier in America"

Jaimy Gordon,"Lord of Misrule"

Nicole Krauss, "Great House"

Lionel Shriver, "So Much for That"

Karen Tei Yamashita, "I Hotel"


Barbara Demick, "Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea"

John W. Dower, "Cultures of War: Pearl Harbor, Hiroshima, 9-11, Iraq"

Patti Smith, "Just Kids"

Justin Spring, "Secret Historian: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward"

Megan K. Stack, "Every Man in This Village Is a Liar: An Education in War"


Kathleen Graber, "The Eternal City"

Terrance Hayes, "Lighthead"

James Richardson, "By the Numbers"

C.D. Wright, "One with Others"

Monica Youn, "Ignatz"

The National Book Awards will be announced at a ceremony in New York on Nov. 17. At the event, Tom Wolfe will receive the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters and the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service will be presented to Joan Ganz Cooney, a founding producer of "Sesame Street."

No comments:

Blog Archive